top of page
JanineHickl(c)juliadragosits_web-9_edited_edited.jpg

Janine Hickl is a versatile artist from Vienna, based in Vienna and London, working as an actress, singer, voice-over artist, and swing dancer.

After completing her degree in performing arts, she continued her acting training in London and Vienna. Throughout her career, she has performed in various film and television productions, as well as on the stage. She has been part of short films, advertising campaigns, and TV series like "Soko Donau“, "Erbe Österreich" and "Walking on Sunshine". In 2021, the short film "Luna" was selected as the winner at the "London Independent Film Festival" and the "Across the Globe Film Festival in New York". Additionally, Janine Hickl was honored as "Best Actress in a Leading Role" by the "Across the Globe Film Festival New York". In 2022, the short film "Hysterical Sisters" was nominated for "Best Short Film" at the "Austrian Film Festival" and has received multiple honorable mention from international film festivals.

 

During her musical journey, Janine discovered her affinity for the swing genre. This passionate dedication is evident not only in her performances as a singer for various bands but also as a swing dancer. Her work with the Swing trio "The Reveilles" with whom she has been active since 2017, particularly captures the vibrant energy of swing and brings new life into the close harmony style.

Inspired by the great chanson artists of past decades, she also developed a passion for chansons. Her deep understanding of the unique stories within the German and French repertoire is showcased in diverse productions she produced and performed alongside renowned musicians. She has dedicated herself to preserving classical chansons and old musical pieces from fading into obscurity. Her interpretations maintain the authenticity of these pieces while making them contemporary and accessible to a wide audience.

In 2023 Janine Hickl celebrates the premiere of the one-woman show "Nothing in Between - the Simple, Complicated Life of Hedy Lamarr" in New York. The play narrates the biography of Hollywood actress and inventor Hedy Lamarr, who sought her place in a male-dominated world of film and science. In the role of Hedy Lamarr, Janine Hickl recounts the highs and lows of Lamarr's life, from her rise to fame to the personal challenges she faced both professionally and privately.

She kicked off 2024 with her solo show "DIVAS – Les Grandes Dames de la Chanson." "DIVAS – Les Grandes Dames de la Chanson" is a musical journey through the history of German and French chansons. Together with Bernd Leichtfried on the piano and Maria Boneva on the violin, she takes the audience into the world of famous screen stars and leads them on a stroll through the streets of Paris. They discover sensual melodies of the golden age of cinema up to the powerful anthems of the 70s. The play is a tribute to the unforgettable chansons of these years that has ben captivating generations.

In addition to her work on stage and on set, Janine Hickl is active as a voice-over artist. Her voice can be heard in international projects, including commercials, podcasts, corporate videos, and e-learning materials. As a dance teacher and choreographer, she teaches various dance styles and creates individual dance performances for private and public events.

bottom of page

top of page
JanineHickl(c)juliadragosits_web-9_edited_edited.jpg

Janine Hickl ist eine vielseitige Künstlerin aus Wien, die als Schauspielerin, Sängerin, Sprecherin und Swing-Tänzerin tätig ist. 

Nach Abschluss ihres Musicalstudiums erhielt sie ihre Schauspielausbildung in London sowie in Wien. Im Laufe ihrer Karriere war sie in verschiedenen Film- und Fernsehproduktionen sowie Theaterstücken zu sehen und stand für Kampagnen, Kurzfilme und TV-Serien wie Soko Donau, Erbe Österreich und Walking on Sunshine vor der Kamera. Der Kurzfilm Luna wurde 2021 als Gewinner des London Independent Film Festivals sowie des Across the Globe Film Festivals New York gewählt. Zusätzlich wurde Janine Hickl vom Across the Globe Film Festival New York mit dem Award Best Actress in a Leading Role ausgezeichnet. 2022 wurde der Kurzfilm Hysterical Sisters als Best Short Film beim Austrian Film Festival nominiert.

 

Während ihres musikalischen Werdegangs entdeckte Janine Hickl ihre Affinität zum Genre Swing. Diese leidenschaftliche Hingabe ist nicht nur in ihren Auftritten als Sängerin für verschiedene Formationen, sondern auch als Swing-Tänzerin spürbar. Besonders in der Arbeit mit dem Swing-Trio The Reveilles, mit dem sie seit 2017 aktiv ist, fängt sie die lebendige Energie der Musikform ein und erweckt sie zu neuem Leben. 

Inspiriert von den großen Chanson-KünstlerInnen vergangener Jahrzehnte, entdeckte sie ebenso Begeisterung für das Genre Chanson. Ihr tiefes Verständnis für die einzigartigen Geschichten des deutschen sowie französischen Repertoires zeigt sie, gemeinsam mit renommierten MusikerInnen, in ihren vielfältigen Eigenproduktionen. Sie widmete sich der Aufgabe, klassische Chansons und alte Musikstücke vor dem Vergessen zu bewahren. Ihre Interpretationen bewahren die Authentizität dieser Stücke, während sie sie gleichzeitig zeitgemäß und zugänglich für ein breites Publikum macht.

 

2023 feiert die Schauspielerin und Sängerin in New York die Premiere ihres Stücks Nothing in Between - the simple, complicated life of Hedy Lamarr. Das Ein-Personen Stück erzählt die Biografie der Hollywood-Schauspielerin und Erfinderin Hedy Lamarr, die in einer von Männern dominierten Welt des Films und der Wissenschaft ihren Platz suchte. In der Rolle von Hedy Lamarr erzählt Janine Hickl von den Höhen und Tiefen aus Lamarrs Lebens, von ihrem Aufstieg zum Ruhm und von persönlichen Herausforderungen, die sie beruflich wie auch privat bewältigen musste.

2024 startetet sie mit dem Soloprogramm "DIVAS – Les Grandes Dames de la Chanson" ins neue Jahr. "DIVAS – Les Grandes Dames de la Chanson" ist eine musikalische Reise durch die Zeitgeschichte des deutschen sowie französischen Chansons. Zusammen mit Bernd Leichtfried am Klavier und Maria Boneva an der Violine, entführt sie das Publikum in die Welt bekannter Leinwandstars und nimmt das Publikum mit auf einen Spaziergang durch die Gassen von Paris. Gemeinsam entdecken sie dabei die sinnlichen Melodien der goldenen Ära des Films bis hin zu den kraftvollen Hymnen der 70er. 

Das Stück ist eine Hommage an die unvergesslichen Chansons dieser Jahre, die bereits Generationen begeistert haben.

Neben der schauspielerischen und musikalischen Arbeit ist Janine Hickl auch als Sprecherin aktiv. Ihre Stimme ist in internationalen Projekten, darunter Werbespots, Podcasts, Imagefilme und E-Learnings zu hören.

Als Tanzpädagogin sowie Choreografin unterrichtet sie verschiedene Tanzstile und gestaltet individuelle Tanzeinlagen für private sowie öffentliche Veranstaltungen.

bottom of page